Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) – The Rules You Need To Know

Posted: August 22nd, 2019 | Author: | Filed under: Driver License | Tags: | Comments Off on Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) – The Rules You Need To Know

If you are looking into a trucking career, you will have to take and pass an exam for your commercial driver’s license. Being in possession of a CDL license in NY is a heavy responsibility. You need to be aware of the specific rules that come with this special licensing at all times. Failure to comply with these rules can result in minor penalties such as fines. However, depending on each situation, violating your CDL can mean termination from your job and even jail time.


My Tickets NYC has worked with a number of CDL drivers to help them with situations where they may unintentionally breach these rules. We realize that these CDL policies can be hard to remember, so we try to use your specific case to save you from the repercussions of forgetting some of these guidelines. As a forward-thinking option, we decided to lay out the rules you need to know for your CDL license in New York.

SEE MORE: Will A Speeding Ticket Affect My CDL?

Commercial Driver’s License Rules

There are three different classes of a commercial driver’s license. Violating the rules for any of these types of CDLs can result in disqualification and temporary or permanent suspension of your license. Here are some of the basic rules associated with a CDL license in NY:

  • Ensure you have the proper permits for overweight loads.
  • Keep accurate and up-to-date logbooks. Forgery of these records is subject to jail time.
  • Do not speed. Speeding over 15 MPH can result in immediate suspension of your commercial driver’s license.
  • Adhere to grade restrictions.
  • Adhere to the rules of the road: tailgating, improper lane changing, and careless driving can result in suspension or termination of your CDL.
  • Do not drink and drive while operating a commercial vehicle. If you receive a DUI with your personal vehicle you may still lose your CDL.
  • Do not use your commercial vehicle to manufacture, distribute or dispense a controlled substance.

Disqualification of Your CDL License In New York

If you violate any of the rules listed above or any stipulation outlined in your CDL manual, then you may lose your CDL license. Here is some more information about disqualification of your CDL license in NY:

Major Violations

These violations may result in one to three years of disqualification of your CDL. Major violations include:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance
  • Refusal of alcohol test
  • Leaving the scene of an accident

SEE MORE: Truck Accident – What You Need To Know

Traffic Violations

A second traffic violation results in a 60-day CDL disqualification and a third or more violation results in a 120-day CDL disqualification. Traffic violations include:

  • Driving with a suspended or revoked CDL.
  • Driving without your CDL in possession.
  • Erraticlane changes
  • Following another vehicle too closely
  • Reckless driving or speeding with your commercial vehicle.

When You Might Need An Attorney

If you have been ticketed for a DUI, a traffic ticket, or have been accused of negligence for any rules of your CDL in NY, you will need to talk to an attorney. The result of these accusations are subject to extensive federal fines, jail time, and probably a loss of your income. If you contact one of our attorneys at My Tickets NYC, we can help delegate your case to save your commercial drivers license— and your job.

Contact My Tickets NYC in Queens for NYC’s best traffic ticket lawyers today to help relieve you of your CDL problems. We cover the 5 Boros, Upstate New York, Long Island and New Jersey. Call or text a picture of your ticket to 917-426-2WIN (2946) or email us at for a free, non-obligatory consultation.

A Breakdown of the Seat Belt Ticket Laws in New York

Posted: August 22nd, 2019 | Author: | Filed under: Seat Belt Ticket Law | Tags: | Comments Off on A Breakdown of the Seat Belt Ticket Laws in New York

Most people are aware of the disasters that can result if they don’t use a seat belt. Still, there are some people who don’t follow— or simply don’t really know— the seat belt ticket laws in New York. Because the results of not wearing a seat belt can be devastating, these laws are tightly enforced. And despite the fact that this may seem like a minor offense to you, most Police Officers are willing to dish out the harshest penalties for this lapse in judgment.

Seat Belt Ticket Law

In addition, the law for New York child restraints also come with heavy consequences. That’s why My Tickets NYC wants you to know what the seat belt ticket laws in New York are. If you’ve been cited for this offense, you might want to consider talking to our traffic violations attorney to see if we can do something about the fines that these tickets come with.

SEE MORE: NYC School Zone Speed Cameras Law Goes Into Effect

Seat Belt Ticket Laws In New York

The law is point blank: you need to be wearing a seat belt at all times. Age, seating position, or type of vehicle do not dictate whether or not a seat belt needs to be on. According to the New York DMV, “In the front seat, the driver and each passenger must wear a seat belt, one person per belt. The driver and front-seat passengers aged 16 or older can be fined up to $50 each for failure to buckle up.”

It also states that it is the driver’s responsibility to make sure all passengers are following the seat belt laws of New York, especially if they are under the age of 16. A driver can be given three traffic violation points and up to $100 in fines for each person in violation of this law.

However, passengers or drivers do not have to wear seat belts if they are in an emergency vehicle, working as a Rural Letter Carrier (mailperson), or if the vehicle is a 1964 or older.

Child Restraints

Child restraints or car seats must be in compliance with the individual child’s height, weight, and other measurements. All children under the age of nine are required to be in a child restraint, along with children under 4’9″ tall, or under 100 pounds.

Here are a few more guidelines to remember to ensure you are adhering to the seat belt ticket laws in New York:

  • Every child younger than 16 must be in a safety restraint.
  • Every child younger than 4 must be in a federally approved child seat that is secured to the car by a seat belt. If they weigh more than 40 pounds, you can use a booster seat with a lap and shoulder belt.
  • Children ages 4-7 must use a booster seat. These booster seats have to have the lap and shoulder belts or a child safety seat.

(The child and safety restraint system must meet the height and weight recommendations of the restraint manufacturer.)

SEE MORE: Penalties For Texting and Driving In New York State

When You Might Need A Traffic Violations Attorney

Because each violation can result in a $100 fine, you may be handed a hefty bill if more than one person is in violation of these laws. For example, if five people are not wearing seat belts while you are driving, you can be fined up to $500. Likewise, your driver’s license can accrue 15 points, which can bring on a whole slew of other problems.

A skilled traffic violations attorney will be the only one who can limit these penalties. If you receive a ticket for a child restraint or seat belt tickets violation, My Tickets NYC can help. Contact us today and we will fight to eliminate all of your points and fines.

Call 917-426-2WIN (2946),complete the e-mail form, email us at for a free, non-obligatory consultation.Let us handle your Queens & NYS child restraint or seat belt tickets violations in the 5 Boros, Upstate New York, Long Island and New Jersey.

Penalties For Driving Without a License in New York

Posted: August 22nd, 2019 | Author: | Filed under: Driver License | Comments Off on Penalties For Driving Without a License in New York

Driving without a license in New York can result in severe penalties for drivers. This includes fines up to $300 and even jail time. You wouldn’t expect such harsh penalties coming from actions as simple as forgetting your driver’s license at home. However, based on the determining factors these penalties for unlicensed operators can and will be enforced for anyone driving without a license in New York.

There are several different ways you can be charged for driving without a license. Each one comes with its own set of rules, which is why the penalties for an unlicensed operator are so diverse. My Tickets NYC is a law firm in New York that helps with these kinds of cases across the state. Contact us for a free consultation on how we can help you resolve this problem.

Driving without a license

What Are the Penalties for Driving without a License in New York?

Driving without a license in New York is considered a misdemeanor. Because of this, your case will be taken to criminal court rather than a traffic violations court. Even if you have a driver’s license that you simply forgot at home, you may need the assistance of a professional criminal lawyer in order to reduce the penalties.

Fees and Fines

The lowest fees associated with driving without a license in New York is a license termination fee which ranges from $75 to $300. You will also have to pay a driver’s responsibility assessment fee which will fall between $100-$250 (sometimes more). Drivers are responsible for renewing their license within 60 days of expiration. If you are caught with an expired license after this time period, you will also have to pay $40 to renew your license so that it is valid.

New York also issues mandatory surcharges as a penalty for an unlicensed operator. These surcharges are usually $80-$100. Driving without a license and being ticketed for it also means an increase (or even a loss) of your car insurance premiums.

Jail Time

Under the New York Consolidated Laws, Vehicle and Traffic Law (VAT § 509) being in violation of driving without a license in New York puts you at risk of jail time. If you do not pay the fines associated with these charges, you can face up to fifteen days in jail.

SEE MORE: Long-Term Consequences of Driving Without a License

Aggravated Unlicensed Operator

An aggravated unlicensed operator (or an AUO)is a driver who is operating under a suspended or revoked license. This is a more serious crime, which means an increase in penalties. Here are the differences in penalties for an AUO:

Third-Degree AUO: Issued as a misdemeanor charge and criminal record

Second-Degree AUO: When a license has been revoked three times or suspended on a DUI charge. $500 fine and jail time.

First-Degree AUO: Issued when license has been suspended 10 or more times. Up to $5,000 in fines and 4 years of jail time

Defenses For Driving without a License in New York

If you left your license at home and you can provide proof that you have a valid license (even if it’s an out-of-state or foreign license), you should be able to defend this charge. However, you may still be issued a fine enforced by the opinion of the judge. With a licensed attorney by your side, you may able to avoid fines altogether.

In the event that you have been charged as an AUO, you absolutely need to hire a skilled attorney. In these instances, you will be charged in criminal court, which means hefty fines and mandatory jail time.

If you’ve been ticketed in the 5 Boros, Upstate New York, Long Island or New Jersey, call 917-426-2WIN (2946),complete the e-mail form, or email us at for a free, non-obligatory consultation to discuss your situation regarding driving with a suspended license or Driving without a license. SEE MORE: How To Pay a Speeding Ticket Online – New York

What To Do For Your First Time DUI in New York

Posted: August 22nd, 2019 | Author: | Filed under: CDL Trucking Ticket Attorney Lawyer NYC, DUI in New York | Tags: | Comments Off on What To Do For Your First Time DUI in New York

Anyone who is issued their first Time DUI in New York is going to feel that instant sense of panic. It’s only natural after you’ve been pulled over for driving under the influence. However, the silver lining for this event is that you learn from it— because the penalties for a DUI charge in New York are certainly going to leave an impact.

If you or a loved one has been arrested with a DUI and it’s their first offense, you need to get in touch with an attorney.  My Tickets NYC handles criminal traffic cases, which — yes— includes DUI charges – even for a first offense.

First Time DUI

Before you contact us, here are some tips on what to do for your first time DUI in New York.

SEE MORE: Queens & NY Lawyer for DWI/DUI

DUI Versus DWI

Before you read the penalties for your first time DUI, you will need to know the difference between a DUI versus a DWI. A DUI is driving under the influence, which accounts for a person’s BAC or alcohol level being below 0.08%. A DUI is also issued for those driving under the influence of drugs or other substances.  Driving while intoxicated, or a DWI, is much more serious because it means that your BAC is above 0.08% which is the legal limit in the state of New York.

Penalties For First Time DUI in New York

UI and DWI’s are considered misdemeanors in New York, which make it a criminal case. Convictions will stay on your record for five years; these lead to a number of spiraling factors. It could limit when you can drive, could ruin job opportunities, and can even play a factor in custody battles.

Here are some other penalties to consider for a first time DUI in New York:

License Suspension: 6-months minimum

Fees: Fines, court fees, driving school, that can cost up to $1,000. The average cost of a DUI is $6,500.

Jail: Up to 6 months or longer, depending if the case results in an accident

SEE MORE: What You Need To Know About Reckless Driving in New York City

What To Do For Your First Time DUI

If you get pulled over for a DUI, you need to submit to the Breathalyzer test. The reason we suggest this is because by obtaining a New York’s driver’s license, you agree to the implied consent law. This means that you agree to a chemical test for BAC levels.

Refusing these tests means that your license will be automatically suspended for a year. Upon reinstatement, you will have to pay fines and install an ignition interlock device for at least 6 months. You will also have to attend an Impaired Driver Program and pay the fees associated with this schooling.

In order to negate or diminish these charges so that they don’t severely impact your life, you need to talk to an attorney. My Tickets NYC is experienced in handling criminal traffic cases in the 5 Boros, Upstate New York, Long Island and New Jersey. They can guide you during this difficult process– call them at 917-426-2WIN (2946),complete the e-mail form,or email us at for a free, non-obligatory consultation. SEE MORE: NYC School Zone Speed Cameras Law Goes Into Effect

NYC School Zone Speed Cameras Law Goes Into Effect

Posted: August 2nd, 2019 | Author: | Filed under: Speeding Traffic Ticket Attorney | Comments Off on NYC School Zone Speed Cameras Law Goes Into Effect

NYC’s new “Vision Zero” tactic is increasing even further starting on July 18th, 2019. The newly imposed NYC school zone speed cameras law come into play this month as a city-wide effort to decrease the number of traffic-related fatalities. Speeding is the number one cause of traffic fatalities and this strategy has already proven successful in other school zones. The legislation had been signed by New York Governor Andrew Cuomo back in May and transportation and elected officials are well on their way to get these cameras in place.

NYC School Zone

These cameras have seen a steady increase in the number of people caught speeding. While officials hope that these cameras will encourage people to slow down, the likelihood of combating this problem entirely is unlikely. If you receive a school zone speeding ticket, contact My Ticket NYC to discuss your options.

What Is NYC’s Vision Zero?

New York City’s action planned, dubbed “Visions Zero” is a movement that protects the public. The concept hopes to make rural and city streets safer for pedestrians, children, and even animals. 4,000 people are injured in a car-related accident every year in New York, so city officials means to see an end to these tragedies. The NYC school zone speed cameras law is just one in a series of steps these proposition plans to take to bite the bullet on New York’s unacceptable traffic issues.

What Does The NYC School Zone Speed Cameras Law Mean?

There are roughly 160 zones that have the NYC school zone speed cameras in place. So far, this tact has proven to be useful in saving lives by forcing drivers to slow down so that they don’t get a speeding ticket from the quick-acting camera monitors. There will be an additional 750 cameras set up around New York, including East Tremont Avenue and Anthony Avenue in the Bronx.

Cars going 10 mph over the speed limit will automatically be photographed by these cameras and they will get a $50 speeding ticket. Most city streets are set at a limit of 25 mph, so this is an easy rule to overlook. The cameras working hours will also be doubled from here on out. These NYC school zone speed cameras will now be operating year-round, including weekdays between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.

What To Do If You Get A Ticket From A NYC School Zone Speeding Camera

These new NYC school zone speed cameras will be issuing tickets left and right to unwary drivers. If you receive a camera speeding ticket in the mail, you only have a few options. You can pay the $50 fee or you can fight the ticket with the help of a speeding ticket attorney.

There are a number of defenses for this new law. If the camera issues a ticket outside of school hours or if you can prove there had been other cars beside you, you can have your ticket waived.

Call or text a picture of your NYC School Zone Speeding Camera ticket to 917-426-2WIN (2946) or email us at for a free consultation today.